Gluten Free Peanut Butter Oat Bars

Gluten-free Peanut Butter Oat Bars | The Baking Beauties

These quick, yet delicious, Gluten free Peanut Butter Oat Bars are made with certified gluten-free oats. Although oats themselves are gluten-free, the harvesting, processing, and packaging can contaminate oats with gluten. If you are on a gluten-free diet, it is important to not consume oats unless they are certified gluten free.

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Oat Bars
  • 2/3 cup butter, melted
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup corn syrup
  • 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 4 cups certified gluten-free quick-cooking oats
  • 1 cup milk chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter
  1. Combine butter, peanut butter, brown sugar, corn syrup and vanilla. Add oats.
  2. Press in greased 9x13 inch pan.
  3. Bake at 400 degrees F for 12 to 14 minutes.
  1. Melt topping ingredients together and apply to warm bars.
  2. Allow to cool before cutting.

, , ,

9 Responses to Gluten Free Peanut Butter Oat Bars

  1. Anneliese February 13, 2009 at 2:30 pm #

    These bars look yummy and I must say that your pictures are exceptional! You are inspiring!

  2. betty r February 13, 2009 at 5:53 pm #

    Oh Jeanine I don’t dare make these..don’t think I could resist!

  3. Lisa March 1, 2011 at 11:27 pm #

    Is corn syrup GF in Canada? I thought I remember reading in Canada it is not? But as per my comment on your falafel post, I only remember weird or bad things…

  4. Jeanine March 2, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    @Lisa Ha, you're like me, Lisa. :)
    I did a quick search to see why it would be unsafe, and found this. Hope this helps you! (I've never stopped using corn syrup without any problems, HTH)

    "All Karo Syrup products are free of gluten, soy, milk, egg, peanut and tree nuts. The syrup production facility does not contain ingredients with these allergens, so cross contamination is not an issue. While some caramel colorings do contain wheat products, the caramel coloring used in the dark corn syrup and brown sugar flavored corn syrup is gluten free. The caramel coloring is derived from burnt sugar." –

  5. Natalie September 9, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    I made these today and used maple syrup instead of corn syrup because that is what I had. They are super yummy!!!! Thanks for the recipe :-)


  6. Judy May 4, 2013 at 8:23 pm #

    ….so glad to see that Natalie used maple syrup…I was just going to ask for a substitute for the corn syrup as I am wheat and corn intolerant! These look delish….must try!

    • Jeanine Friesen May 6, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

      Maple syrup definitely works, Judy! Hope your family enjoys them.

  7. Coleen April 19, 2014 at 11:32 pm #

    These were a huge hit at our family Easter celebration!

    • Jeanine May 2, 2014 at 7:19 am #

      Glad to hear that, Coleen! They are dangerous – once you have one, it’s hard to stop. 😉

Leave a Reply